An Absolutely Learning perspective on The Mozilla Foundation

As the Mozilla web site clearly states, “Mozilla exists to promote openness, innovation and opportunity on the Internet. Mozilla is a proudly non-profit organization dedicated to keeping the power of the Web in people’s hands. We are a global community of users, contributors and developers working to innovate on your behalf. When you use Firefox, or any Mozilla product, you become a part of that community, helping us build a brighter future.”So I am assuming that I can proudly say that I part of the Mozilla community as I definitely use the Firefox web browser for most (90%) of my web browsing, and I have also unleashed Thunderbird as a desktop email client from time to time.

Also most recently when I needed to make some quick changes on my web sites I downloaded and executed html editing and file transfers with their products KompoZer and FileZilla.  These are all well designed software tools that empowered me to provide for you, taught me more about the Internet through project based learning, and saved me from having to purchase a newer version of another software editing tool for my MacBook Pro.

So, of course, this leads me to the non-profit question.  How does it function?  Well, of course, Mozilla needs our support financially and in the form of promotion.  If you find yourself using their products then perhaps you could donate too.  I recently donated for the first time, and I received a cool Mozilla Firefox T-shirt that I wear proudly wear to promote the brand.  I also recommend it in my classes, and I am writing about it on my blog at this very moment while the monster FileZilla is transferring over 3500 files of my students work to another web site as I reorganize my web contributions.

Mozilla truly empowers us to freely gather information efficiently and without secondary objectives of profit in mind.  Mozilla is a democratic organization that allows us to express ourselves for the better of the world.  I support Mozilla, and I hope you do too because I don’t know what would happen in a world without these types of smart, caring, and easy to use products.

Your comments and suggestions are appreciated.

